The Gluten Free Garcias

Living gluten free in a gluten filled world!

Why the Delay? Because we had a birthday!! October 15, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — theglutenfreegarcias @ 9:26 pm

Yes, Sir/Mam!! We had a birthday! Literally IN the Garcia household! πŸ™‚

Marissa Lynn Garcia was born on June 27, 2012 (the day after my 1st/last post)! She was 7 lbs. 12 ozs. and 19 and 3/4 inches long! She looks just like her big brother! Everyone says so! πŸ™‚ It was a homebirth with a midwife attending. yet the midwife barely made it for me to have her! 1 hour of labor and she was here! πŸ™‚

She is a beautiful little blessing! Here is a pic of her right after she was born!

Marissa Lynn Garcia

Born June 27, 2010 2:20 am

 

I am going to try my hardest to get in the swing of things with this blog. I just have not had a lot of time! So I am going to post a recipe for my favorite Gluten and dairy free chili! I like to make this one when our church has our second Sunday lunch. It feeds a lot and goes great with Rice (my hubby’s fave) or cornbread.

Thanks Candice for the inspiration to actually type this one out!! πŸ™‚

Gluten Free/Dairy Free Chili:

What you will need:
-ground beef (if you are making a lot I would use 3 lbs)
-1 large onion (I also put 2 carrots in mine just for more veggies)
-garlic (see recipe)
-2 large cans plus 1 small can of tomato sauce (you can use more or less depending in the amount of meat you use)
-2 large cans plus 1 small can of black beans, pintos or any type of bean you like! (I use black beans in mine because they are a little healthier!)
-2 to 3 heaping tablespoons of chili powder
-1 tablespoon of cumin
-1 teaspoon of salt
-1 teaspoon of black pepper
-2 teaspoons of Oregano

You will also need a crock-pot for this recipe or you can just use a large pot on the stove, not a big difference. But the longer you let it cook the yummier it gets!

Turn your crock pot on the high setting. Start by browning the meat along with the onion in a pan on your stove. You can add some garlic if you like. 2 to 3 cloves freshly chopped or 2 teaspoons of powdered. Put the browned meat mixture into your crock-pot or pot on the stove. Add your tomato sauce, black beans (you can drain the juice from the beans and rinse them if you’d like. I normally do, but the juice will make the chili a little thicker) and all of your spices then give it all a good stir. You can cook this on low overnight or on high for an hour. Make sure to taste it after about 30 minutes, once everything is nice and hot and working together. That way you can see if it needs something more. If you want an extra kick, add in some cayenne pepper!! My hubby loves me to add cayenne! I serve mine with white rice or you can make some gluten free corn bread.smileΒ And if you want a recipe for that, you can buy the Bobs red mill brand. I haven’t tried it before, but I may try so I can add another recipe to my list! πŸ™‚

Y’all have a great week and I hope to post again next Monday! πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

